MDU125 – Original Character Concepts/Designs

As part of my second trimester of 3D Modelling my assesment is to create an original 3D Character Model that will later be rigged and animated for a game environment.

The Character Model had to fit within one of these themes:

– Western
– Spy
– Superhero
– Science Fiction

I originally started looking into Archer type characters, like below, as i liked their style and choice of weapon.

However these characters seemed very high in detail and also tended to lean towards a more fantasy genre. As I am quite familiar with the Sci-Fi genre i decided to look into that as an option instead. My main source of inspiration for this character design is Star Lord “Peter Quill” from Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy. I quite liked the lovable rouge, not so traditional hero type look for my character.

From there I found this picture of a “pirate” character with an eye patch. I really liked this idea and i plan to adapt the eyepatch to be cybernetic to fit with the scifi genre

To further fit with the Sci-fi theme i decided that it would be interesting to look into aliens and make my character not-human. As i didn’t want to do anything to drastic to the base mesh i decided to look into characters with a different skin tone. I decided i really Like the Andorians from Star trek and i will use the blue to form a base skin tone.

Andorian from Star Trek Img Source: https://www.flickr.com/photos/37203498@N00/411162369/

Overall my Character will be a bit of a mash up of different aspects and hopefully come out ok. During my searches i collaborated a bit of a mood board that you can see here:

https://www.pinterest.com/kliahn/character-design/ 

However i have shown the key elements above, Hopefully my character will turn out well.

Leave a comment